Search   

500 Cardinal
Chomedey, Laval, QC
H7V 1T5
Phone : 450 686-6292 Fax : 450 686-6293

Home Page

John F. Kennedy Elementary School


Zone Map click here

The map describing the attendance zone for this school is intended to provide a general overview of the territory this school serves. Parents must contact the school in question in order to confirm admissibility to the requested school.

Philosophy / Mission

At John F. Kennedy School, our goal is to develop a learning environment that nurtures the whole child. Academic, physical and personal development are our priorities. School policies such as dress code, nutrition policy and a code of conduct that encourage partnerships with parents support these priorities.


General Information

John F. Kennedy Elementary School was founded in 1964 and was completely renovated in 1999. The school is located in the heart of Laval and houses 320 students. The school has strong ties to the community and prides itself on the social and academic achievement of its students.


Parent Participation

The John F. Kennedy Governing Board meets 10 times a year and is a parity committee of 14 members. The Parent Participation Organization (PPO) is a parent committee of a maximum of 25 members who actively supports school life and educational projects. They also spearhead an active and involved body of parent volunteers.


Programs

The MELS program with a strong orientation in Mathematics and Language Arts is offered at the school. The French second language program is taught by a team of specialists. An orientation to cooperative learning is evident in all subject areas. Technology and use of computers are integrated across the curriculum. Individualized Education Plans (IEP's) are developed to support students as needed.


Services

There are many services that contribute to a positive learning environment and comprehensive support system for our students. These services include a fully operational library, gymnasium, computer lab, resource and music teachers, speech-language pathologists, guidance counsellor, social worker, nurse and MEQ day care.


Events and activities

A wide range of extracurricular activities that reflect the vision of nurturing the whole child are offered. The students participate in board-wide athletic tournaments apart from a strong handball program. Lunch hour activities include art, choir, tennis, science, animal study, chess and Italian. Activities through each school year include an Arts Festival, Heritage Week, I Love to Read Week, Family Week, Carnival, and Earth Week.

Community connections are an integral part of providing information and services for our students. The services of a school nurse and a social worker are provided by the CLSC. Organization such as the Missing Children's Network, Community Police, Big Brothers/Big Sisters and the Learning Exchange (literacy group) are regular contributors to our school program.


Other Information

John F. Kennedy Elementary School offers a structured learning environment that strives to meet the individual needs of students.

Recherche   

500, rue Cardinal
Chomedey, Laval (Québec)
H7V 1T5
Téléphone : 450 686-6292 Télécopieur : 450 686-6293

Site Web

John F. Kennedy


Philosophie / Mission

Notre objectif est de créer un environnement scolaire propice au développement global de l'enfant, c'est-à-dire de favoriser leur réussite sur les plans intellectuel, physique et personnel. Les politiques de l'école, telles que la tenue réglementaire, la politique de nutrition et le code de conduite viennent renforcer ces priorités et encourager la création d'un partenariat entre le foyer et l'école.


Renseignements généraux

L'école primaire John-F.-Kennedy a été fondée en 1964 et entièrement rénovée en 1999. Elle est située au coeur de Laval et accueille 320 élèves. Elle a établi des liens étroits avec la communauté et s'enorgueillit de la réussite de ses élèves sur les plans scolaire et social.


Participation des parents

Le conseil d'établissement de l'école primaire John-F.-Kennedy se compose de 14 membres et se réunit 10 fois par année. L'organisme de participation des parents (OPP) est formé d'un maximum de 25 membres qui collaborent activement à la réalisation du projet éducatif de l'école et à la vie scolaire. L'OPP dirige également les activités des nombreux parents bénévoles.


Programmes

L'école dispense le programme de formation prescrit par le MEQ en y intégrant des programmes enrichis en mathématique et en anglais. Une équipe de spécialistes enseigne le programme de français, langue seconde. L'apprentissage coopératif et les technologies de l'information et de la communication sont intégrés dans toutes les disciplines. Des programmes sont spécialement conçus pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers.


Evénements et activités

Un large éventail d'activités s'inscrivant dans notre optique du développement global de l'enfant sont offertes. Des tournois sont organisés avec les autres écoles de la commission scolaire, mais c'est toutefois le programme de hand-ball qui a la cote auprès des élèves. Les activités suivantes ont lieu à l'heure du midi : arts, chorale, tennis, science, étude des animaux, échecs et cours d'italien. Le festival des arts, les semaines du patrimoine, de la Terre, J'aime lire et de la famille, ainsi que le carnaval sont des événements annuels à ne pas manquer.

La création de liens avec la communauté fait partie de l'approche que nous préconisons auprès des élèves. Ceux-ci bénéficient en outre des services d'une infirmière scolaire et d'une travailleuse sociale qui relèvent toutes deux du CLSC. Les organismes tels le Réseau enfants retour, le service de police, grandes frères/grandes soeurs et un groupe d'alphabétisation contribuent régulièrement au programme éducatif de l'école.


Services

De nombreux services contribuent à la création d'un environnement d'apprentissage positif et au bon encadrement des élèves. Les élèves ont accès à une bibliothèque, à un gymnase et à un laboratoire d'informatique. Ils peuvent aussi bénéficier des services des personnes suivantes : enseignant-ressource, professeur de musique, orthophoniste, conseiller d'orientation scolaire, infirmière et travailleur social. Il y a aussi un service de garde.


Autres

L'école primaire John-F.-Kennedy offre un environnement scolaire bien structuré visant à répondre aux besoins particuliers de chaque élève.