

NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

First Meeting of the New Council of Commissioners

Rosemère, November 14, 2024 – Last night, the newly elected Council of Commissioners of the Sir Wilfrid Laurier School Board (SWLSB) held their first meeting since the November 3 school elections. During this meeting, the newly elected chair and the 12 commissioners were sworn in following the official declaration of election.

Mr. James Di Sano, the new Chairperson of the School Board, was enthusiastic to chair his first Council of Commissioners



meeting. As the youngest Chairperson of a school board in Québec and an alumnus of the SWLSB, Mr. Di Sano expressed his pride in leading the SWLSB. "I am truly humbled and honoured to have been elected Chairperson of the SWLSB," he said. "Together with my fellow commissioners, I am committed to building a future where every student has the opportunity to thrive and every voice is valued. This new council, comprised of both seasoned and new commissioners, will work hand in hand in the best interests of all students. I look forward to collaborating closely with the General Directorate to further support our students' growth and success. I am proud to lead a school board that fosters a welcoming and inclusive learning and

working environment which promotes academic excellence."

During this first meeting, the Council elected the following individuals to key leadership positions:

- Vice-Chairperson: Donna Anber
- Alternate Vice-Chairperson: Barbara Barrasso
- Chairperson of the Advisory Student Success Committee: Barbara Barrasso
- Vice-Chairperson of the Advisory Student Success Committee: Desiree Ramacieri
- Chairperson of the Advisory Administration Committee: Bob Pellerin
- Vice-Chairperson of the Advisory Administration Committee: Noémia Onofre de Lima

The following commissioners were elected to the Executive Committee, where they will play an integral role in guiding the school board's mission and initiatives.

- James Di Sano, Chairperson
- Anick Brunet
- Benny Catania
- Bob Pellerin
- Chloée Alary
- Melissa Wall
- Tara Anderson

Additionally, the commissioners responsible for the Central Students' Committee were elected, specifically Benny Catania, Heather Appleby, Noémia Onofre de Lima and Elena Ferrato. Benny Catania was appointed as Chairperson of the committee and Elena Ferrato as Vice-Chairperson.

As for the Transportation Advisory Committee, the two elected commissioners are Heather Appleby and Elena Ferrato.

Chairperson James Di Sano was elected to sit on the Board of Directors of the Quebec English School Boards Association (QESBA), while three commissioners were elected to represent the school board on the Sir Wilfrid Laurier Foundation's Board of Directors, namely Benny Catania, Desiree Ramacieri and Bob Pellerin.







The next regular meeting of the Council of Commissioners will take place on December 11, 2024, at 7:30 p.m.

With a workforce of more than 2,000 employees, the Sir Wilfrid Laurier School Board is the third-largest English school board of the Province of Québec and boasts a graduation rate of 88.3%. Its territory comprises the administrative regions of Laval, Laurentides and Lanaudière. The school board provides preschool, elementary, secondary and adult education, together with vocational training services to over 14,000 students in 35 schools and 4 centres. It also offers business training services.

- 30 -

Source: Maxeen Jolin, Communications Coordinator | Coordonnatrice des communications mjolin@swlauriersb.gc.ca, 450 621-5600, ext. 1385



